On Domain Names, Property Rights and Scams
As a blogger for the last 6 years, I’ve often minded my own business and careful to stay within boundaries. Blogging, after all, started out as a hobby (a form of therapy, actually) and I only had planned on having fun sharing random stuff with family, friends and, eventually, virtual strangers (some turned into true friends!). Then came the time when I knew I can do more in terms of reach when it comes to matters that I’m most passionate about. I then realised I’m here to learn, connect and share.
But even sharing has its limits.
I just came home (tired and without sleep) from the hospital and had finally gotten around to checking my mail when I received a couple of emails but both pertaining to one alarming matter: intellectual property rights and trademark of my long time fashion blog, StyleManila.com; sent to two email addresses I set up for the same brand: advertising@stylemanila.com and fashion@stylemanila.com. The emails came from a certain Angela Zhang who apparently works for some Chinese company called yg-network.cn who shares the same business address with CNNetwork.org btw.
For clarity, let me quote the email in verbatim:
Dear Manager,We are a Network Service Company which is the domain name registration center in Shanghai, China. On July,7th,2010, We received HUATAI Company’s application that they are registering the name “stylemanila” as their Internet Trademark and “stylemanila.cn”,”stylemanila.com.cn” ,”stylemanila.asia”domain names etc.,It is China and ASIA domain names.But after auditing we found the brand name been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you, so I am sending you this Email to check.According to the principle in China,your company is the owner of the trademark,In our auditing time we can keep the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand in china and Asia by yourself, please let the responsible officer contact us as soon as possible. Thank you!
Kind regards
Angela ZhangAngela Zhang
Registration Department Manager
3002, Nanhai Building 854.Nandan Road
Xuhui District, Shanghai
Office: +86 216296 2950
Fax: +86 216296 1557
Email: info@ygnetwork.cn
web: http://ygnetwork.cn
web: http://www.ygnetwork.cn
After reading it, my gut was telling me that the email’s pretty dodgy. Having been exposed to this industry this long, I can spot a spam mailer, comment, etc from a mile away plus the fact that I know of China’s highly questionable reputation when it comes to online activities. But due to my limited knowledge on property rights on the internet, I was, admittedly, also a bit apprehensive. Call me greedy but I really wouldn’t want to share the brand I’ve worked hard on building, would you? People who think they can ride the train of the brand are (and will always be, unfortunately) spineless followers. I decided that I needed to do what I usually do when faced with this sort of situation — I’ve got the skills and the mind to get and process the information I need (helps that I can always count on Atty. R.M. to watch my back, hehe) in order to effectuate the intended results.
Folks, say hello to the Trademark and Domain Name Scam from China.
Apparently, this sort of tactic has been going on for quite sometime now and the agenda is to get you to register the said domains “before the other company does”. Creating the sense of urgency is a great selling tactic. Most sales people will agree with me that this strategy, more often than not, plays a major part in closing that sale. Targeting folks who are somewhat established (but not necessarily technically adept) online is brilliant simply because these people fit the right demographic that if you’ve managed to relay the message at the right time, with the given material, you just might be able to make that conversion. But we all know that these folks from yg-network.cn simply ushered their ‘victims’ into falsely thinking that they’re in danger of losing their trademark, brand or domain name and they’re the messiah of trademark security and domain registry, hence, rightfully calling it a scam. Heh.
Anyway, this is my way of getting the word out and, hopefully, warn you folks regarding the matter.
Suggested reads:
Domain Name Scams
Trademark and Domain Name Scams from China
Domain Name Renewal Scam From China?
Owner Beware: Chinese Domain Name Fraud
No related posts.



Ah, yes, my uncle in HK often gets those emails for his company (he’s bugged me a million and one times about it). Of course I’d suggest that you get different extensions of your domain name, but I don’t really see the need to register .cn domains.
Ade´s last [type] ..Facebook Places- Oh- The Fun I’ll Have
You’re right to suggest that, Ade. Thanks!
I got the exact same email on August 30th (from “Angela Zhang” at yg-networks.com). I get a ton of spam and unsolicited requests for that particular domain but this one threw me for a bit. Glad to hear there’s nothing to it
Matt´s last [type] ..How StyleFeeder maximizes revenue from Google traffic
Yes, I just received three identical emails from the inimitable Ms. Zhang. I’m quite confident that it’s a scam. I had a similar incident awhile back, which I wrote about in my blog, here: fiercewolfhowl.blogspot.com/2008/10/almost-caught-in-web-chinese-domain.html
It definitely is a scam, I received two emails from them today, YG Networks, I bet you its not Angela either.
Might be connected to a HK Telecom worker ?
Could add this to scammers of the year, everyone wants to be famous I guess.
I just got that email too. The weird thing is that my company name is Bamboo Blossom and that name has a bad connotation in China so I was suspicious. I’m glad to hear it’s nothing to worry about.